Announcing the 2019 Governor's Tourism Awards

During the 2019 Colorado Governor's Tourism Conference Annual Awards Dinner, six awards were presented to individuals and organizations that have greatly contributed to the advancement and innovation of Colorado’s tourism industry. The awards and winners are detailed below.

The Colorado Tourism Office Board Chairman’s Award is awarded to extraordinary individuals’ commitment to tourism in Colorado. The 2019 award went to Barb Bowman. 

The Outstanding Community Tourism Initiative Award is presented to a community or region that has demonstrated excellence in a tourism event, promotion or project. The 2019 award went to the Pueblo Chile & Frijoles Festival.

The Governor’s Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution to Colorado Tourism is presented to an individual to recognize his/her tireless contributions to advancing the Colorado tourism industry. The 2019 winner was Mary Ann Mahoney, CEO of the Boulder Convention & Visitors Bureau.

The Governor’s Award for Outstanding Marketing Program recognizes an event or project undertaken by a community or region to promote tourism in Colorado. The 2019 award went to the Colorado Historic Hot Springs Loop.

The Jack Snow Volunteer Award is presented to an individual(s) who have selflessly dedicated time and energy to furthering tourism in Colorado. The 2019 award went to Bill Miller, who devoted his free time to promoting Colorado and bettering the visitor experience. 

The Governor's Award for Outstanding Sustainability Initiative honors an activity, event, project or program that reduces the impact of travelers on special places and natural resources in Colorado. The 2019 winners of this award included Hanging Lake Management Plan and Vail Resorts' Commitment to Zero.