Colorado’s Four New Certified Creative Districts Announced

DENVER— Colorado Creative Industries, a division of the Colorado Office of Economic Development and International Trade (OEDIT), announced today the certification of four new Creative Districts in Aurora, Gunnison, La Junta and La Veta. Certification is for a five-year period. Breckenridge Creative District, Carbondale Creative District, Crested Butte Creative District, Downtown Fort Collins Creative District, Golden Triangle Creative District and Mancos Creative District were approved for re-certification following the initial five-year period.

“The economic impact of the creative class and creative districts is profound, representing 4.4% of the state’s GDP,” said Margaret Hunt, Director of Colorado Creative Industries. “Investing in and supporting the arts provides the foundation for places where people want to live, work and visit. We are excited to add four more to our ranks for a total of 30 certified districts in our state.” 

A review panel evaluated applications and selected four finalists for site visits. Applications were reviewed using the criteria of district characteristics, management and planning, community buy-in. Districts must meet a rigorous set of minimum standards in order to achieve certification such as recognition by local government, a high concentration of creative organizations and businesses, sustainable funding sources, paid staff and a strategic plan.

The four newly certified districts will join the 26 existing Colorado Creative Districts: 40 West Arts District, Breckenridge Creative District, Carbondale Creative District, Corazón de Trinidad, Crested Butte Creative District, Denver’s Art District on Santa Fe, Downtown Colorado Springs Creative District, Durango Creative District, Fort Collins Creative District, Golden Triangle Creative District, Grand Junction Creative District, Grand Lake Creative District, Greeley Creative District, Longmont Creative District, Loveland Creative District, Mancos Creative District, Manitou Springs Creative District, Paonia Creative District, Pueblo Creative Corridor, Ridgway Creative District, RiNo Arts District, Salida Creative District, Steamboat Springs Creative District, Sterling Creative District, Telluride Arts District and Westwood Creative District.

Along with official designation, each district will receive an award package including financial support, technical assistance, marketing support, access to grants, CDOT highway signs and leadership training.

Communities across Colorado have access to the Call Yourself Creative platform, a website offering a DIY 3-step process for creative communities, access to webinars, and case studies.

For more information, please visit the Colorado Creative Districts webpage

About the Creative Districts Program

In 2011, the Colorado General Assembly passed HB11-1031, encouraging the formation of Creative Districts in communities, neighborhoods or contiguous geographic areas. Administered by Colorado Creative Industries, the Creative District Program encourages the formation of creative districts in neighborhoods and contiguous geographic areas for the purpose of:


  • Attracting artists and creative entrepreneurs to a community
  • Enhancing economic and civic capital of Colorado communities
  • Creating hubs and clusters of economic activity
  • Enhancing areas as appealing places to live, conduct businesses and attract visitors
  • Serving as an economic strategy and magnet
  • Revitalizing and beautifying
  • Promoting a community’s unique identity
  • Showcasing cultural and artistic events and amenities
Show Post Date