Just Transition Community Funding

Program Summary

The Office of Economic Development & International Trade (OEDIT) and the Office of Just Transition (OJT), within the Colorado Department of Labor & Employment, are partnering to make a new phase of grants available to Tier One & Tier Two Just Transition communities to support their economic and workforce development activities. 

OEDIT & OJT began seeking proposals for this funding from Just Transition communities on January 20, 2023. The amount of funds available to each community varies depending primarily on the number of coal-fired plant and coal mine closures, as well as the urgency of those closures, within each community. For detailed information on the allocation amounts and the proposal submission process, including access to the funding request form, please see OJT and OEDIT’s Guidance for Colorado Coal Transition Community Funding Opportunities, (PDF)

The Colorado Just Transition Action Plan, (PDF) provides more information on the Just Transition communities themselves, and it provides recommendations on supporting coal transition workers who are or will be laid off by connecting them with job and training opportunities, local, state, and federal resources, quality jobs, and more. OEDIT has also provided enhanced benefits via certain programs for community stakeholders and economic developers in Just Transition communities, learn more about those benefits and other relevant programming here

Tier One Communities: Morgan County, Pueblo County, Montrose County (West End), and the Yampa Valley (Moffat, Rio Blanco, and Routt counties)
Tier Two Communities: Delta and Gunnison Counties, El Paso County, La Plata County and Larimer County


Type: Grant

For: Tier One and Tier Two Just Transition Communities

Amount: Varies by Community

Application period: Opens on January 20, 2023, and will stay open for a minimum of one year. Applications will be reviewed on a rolling basis.

OEDIT division: Business Funding and Incentives

View All Programs